Chamber’s new Board officially sworn-in

(Greater Sudbury, July 5, 2018) The Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce is pleased to report the results of its elections to its Board of Directors.  This year’s ballot contained the names of fourteen candidates vying for seven vacancies on the Board.  The successful candidates include: Cora DeMarco (Technica Mining); Karen Hastie (AKFIT Fitness Superstore); Kevin Jarus (Tulloch Enterprises); Alyson Laking (Laking Group of Companies); Faith Salmaso (RBC Royal Bank of Canada); Tyler Stott (DiBrina Sure Group); and Bryan Welsh (Individual member).  Each director will serve a two-year term. In addition, Neil Milner (KGHM) has been elected to fill a vacancy left by the resignation of a director due to business reasons.  He will serve a one year term.

These newly elected directors will join returning directors Karen Hourtovenko (Life Zone Consulting); Michael Macnamara (Conroy Scott LLP); Joel Montgomery (Vale); and Tracy Nutt (ServiceMaster of Sudbury/Build North Construction) who are serving the second year of their two-year term.

Additionally, four appointed directors were selected by the elected directors.  The appointed directors include Michael Andrighetti (Ethier Sand and Gravel), Kristine Morrissey (Cambrian College), Shayne Smith (Milman Industries) and Jennifer Taback (Design de Plume).

The chamber also recently elected its new Executive Council.  The members include: Michael Macnamara (Chair of the Board), Bryan Welsh (First Vice Chair), Cora DeMarco (Second Vice Chair), Alyson Laking (Treasurer), Tracy Nutt (Immediate Past Chair) and Debbi Nicholson (President & CEO [ex-officio]).

The new directors and Chair of the Board have officially begun their term in office as of today, July 5th,  following a swearing-in ceremony officiated by the Madam Justice Patricia Hennessy that took place yesterday evening.

“The chamber’s Board of Directors represents community leaders across a wide range of economic sectors in our city.  We are very pleased to add the industry knowledge and expertise of these individuals to our Board and we look forward to their contributions in supporting the success of the Greater Sudbury business community,” said Debbi Nicholson, President & CEO, Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce.

“The chamber plays a critical role in our community by defending business priorities at all levels of government for enterprises from all sectors and sizes.  I look forward to my second term leading the Board as Chair and enhancing our role as the voice of business in order to continue to promote economic prosperity in Greater Sudbury,” said Michael Macnamara, Chair of the Board.

The Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce is governed by a 16-member volunteer Board of Directors.  Each member of the Board volunteers their expertise, time and knowledge, reflecting a broad cross-section of the local business community.  The Board consists of elected directors, serving 2-year terms and appointed directors, serving 1-year terms.  A term runs from July 1 to June 30 of the following year.

2018-2019 Board of Directors:

Executive Council

  • Michael Macnamara – CHAIR (Conroy Scott LLP)
  • Bryan Welsh – FIRST VICE CHAIR (Individual member)
  • Cora DeMarco – SECOND VICE CHAIR (Technica Mining)
  • Alyson Laking – TREASURER  (Laking Group of Companies)
  • Tracy Nutt – PAST CHAIR (ServiceMaster of Sudbury/Build North Construction)
  • Debbi M Nicholson – PRESIDENT & CEO (Ex-officio)


  • Michael Andrighetti (Ethier Sand and Gravel),)
  • Karen Hastie (AFKIT Fitness Superstore)
  • Karen Hourtovenko(Life Zone Consulting)
  • Kevin Jarus (Tulloch Enterprises)
  • Neil Milner (KGHM)
  • Joel Montgomery (Vale)
  • Kristine Morrissey (Cambrian College)
  • Faith Salmaso (RBC Royal Bank of Canada)
  • Shayne Smith (Milman Industries)
  • Tyler Stott (DiBrina Sure Group)
  • Jennifer Taback (Design de Plume)