Latest Issues

Four new members will be joining the Board of Directors of the Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce (GSCC).  They will join four re-elected members and those who will complete the second year of their two-year term.

The twelve elected and re-elected directors of the GSCC Board of Directors include: Anna Frattini (BESTECH), Joel Montgomery (Vale Canada Ltd.), David Boyce (RBC Dominion Securities), Daniel Giroux (Collège Boréal), Kristal Lafantaisie (Science North), Paul Comacchio (snapd Sudbury), Pat Dubreuil (Let’s Roll ‘Ideation’ Consulting), Ed Tyson (Vale Canada Ltd.), Gary Potts (Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations, a Glencore Company), Geoff Jeffery (Weaver Simmons), Alyson Laking (Laking Toyota Inc.), and Karen Hourtovenko (LifeZone Consulting & Riverside Cardiac Clinic Inc).

Additionally, four appointed directors were selected by the elected directors to fill in any skills/gaps that may have existed. The appointed directors include: Joseph Mansourian (, Wallace Gillard (WAT Supplies), Sheri Tomchick (Plan A Health Care Staffing Solutions) and Kelly Scott (Barrydowne Paint).

“We have an excellent and energetic group of directors for the 2014-2015 term,” says Debbi Nicholson, President and CEO, GSCC.  “Each director brings with them their own vision, set of expertise and enthusiasm to their position.   This is a dedicated group of individuals who are really invested in helping our business community grow here in Greater Sudbury,” added Nicholson.

The Chamber also elected  its Executive Council.  The members include: Geoff Jeffery (Chair of the Board), Karen Hourtovenko (First Vice Chair), Sheri Tomchick (Second Vice Chair), Alyson Laking (Treasurer) and Debbi Nicholson (Ex-Officio, President & CEO, GSCC).

The GSCC is governed by a 17-member volunteer Board of Directors.  Each member of the Board volunteers their expertise, time and knowledge, reflecting a broad cross-section of the local business community.  The Board consists of elected directors, serving 2-year terms and appointed directors, serving 1-year terms.  A term runs from July 1 to June 30 of the following year.

The new directors and Chair of the Board will officially begin their term in office following the swearing-in ceremony slated for July 3rd,  officiated by His Honour Judge William Fitzgerald.

To obtain additional information, please contact:

Joyce Mankarios
Policy and Communication Manager
Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce
705-673-7133 ext. 224
c: 705-677-5735