Media Release

Chamber’s new Board officially sworn-in

(Greater Sudbury, July 6, 2016) The Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce its new Board of Directors for 2016-2017.  This year’s ballot contained the names of twelve candidates vying for six vacancies on the Board.  The successful candidates include: Joshua Blasutti (Freelandt Caldwell Reilly LLP Chartered Accountants), Vicki Jacobs (Copy Copy), Alyson Laking (Laking Toyota), Geoff Jeffery (Weaver Simmons), David Boyce (RBC Dominion Securities) and Darlene Palmer (Cambrian College).  Each director will serve a two-year term.

These newly elected directors will join returning directors André Dumais (IONIC Engineering), Abbas Homayed (Laurentian Publishing), Tracy Nutt (Build North Construction Inc and ServiceMaster of Sudbury), Michael Macnamara (Conroy Trebb Scott Hurtubise LLP), Kelly Scott (Barrydowne Paint) and Karen Hourtovenko (Life Zone Consulting) who are serving the second year of their two-year term.

Additionally, three appointed directors were selected by the elected directors.  The appointed directors include Shawna Kirkwood (Gougeon Insurance Brokers), Martin Lajeunesse (Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario Inc) and Joel Montgomery (Vale).

The chamber also recently elected its new Executive Council.  The members include: Tracy Nutt (Chair of the Board), Michael Macnamara (First Vice Chair), Kelly Scott (Second Vice Chair), Alyson Laking (Treasurer), Karen Hourtovenko (Immediate Past Chair) and Debbi Nicholson (Ex-Officio, President & CEO).

The new directors and Chair of the Board have officially begun their term in office as of today, July 6th,  following a swearing-in ceremony officiated by the Honourable Justice Patricia C. Hennessy that took place yesterday evening.

“The chamber’s Board of Directors represents community leaders across a wide range of economic sectors in our city.  We are very pleased to add the industry knowledge and expertise of these individuals to our Board and we look forward to their contributions in supporting the success of the Greater Sudbury business community,” said Debbi Nicholson, President & CEO, Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce.

“As a business owner myself, I understand the importance of what the chamber does to defend business priorities at all levels of government for enterprises from all sectors and sizes.  I look forward to leading the Board as Chair in enhancing our role as the voice of business in order to continue to promote economic prosperity in Greater Sudbury,” said Tracy Nutt, Chair of the Board.

The Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce is governed by a 16-member volunteer Board of Directors.  Each member of the Board volunteers their expertise, time and knowledge, reflecting a broad cross-section of the local business community.  The Board consists of elected directors, serving 2-year terms and appointed directors, serving 1-year terms.  A term runs from July 1 to June 30 of the following year.

 2016-2017 Board of Directors:

Executive Council

  • Tracy Nutt – CHAIR (Build North Construction Inc and ServiceMaster of Sudbury)
  • Michael Macnamara – FIRST VICE CHAIR (Conroy Trebb Scott Hurtubise LLP)
  • Kelly Scott – SECOND VICE CHAIR (Barrydowne Paint )
  • Alyson Laking -TREASURER  (Laking Toyota)
  • Karen Hourtovenko – PAST CHAIR (Life Zone Consulting)
  • Debbi M Nicholson – PRESIDENT & CEO (Ex-Officio)


  • Joshua Blasutti (Freelandt Caldwell Reilly LLP Chartered Accountants)
  • David A Boyce (RBC Dominion Securities Inc)
  • André Dumais(IONIC Engineering)
  • Abbas Homayed(Laurentian Publishing)
  • Vicki Jacobs (Copy Copy)
  • Geoff Jeffery (Weaver Simmons)
  • Shawna Kirkwood (Gougeon Insurance Brokers)
  • Martin Lajeunesse (Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario Inc)
  • Joel Montgomery(Vale)
  • Darlene Palmer (Cambrian College)


To obtain additional information, please contact:

Joyce Mankarios

Policy and Public Relations Manager

Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce

705-673-7133 ext. 224

c: 705-677-5735

[email protected]